Redshirts by John Scalzi (Four Stars)

Redshirts by John Scalzi

(Four Stars out of Five)

Sometimes the practice of offering early chapters of a book free backfires. I read the first chapters of Redshirts and, assuming I knew what it was all about, decided to pass on the whole novel. Wrong. This book is great, and it’s so much more than a send-up of science fiction television series. I can’t believe I waited to read it.

Oh, the basic story sounds like a Star Trek clone, which it is right up to the point where the main characters realize their story parallels Star Trek, then the fun begins.

John Scalzi is probably the master science fiction author in America today. (Anything else I say would be gilding the lily.)

Well-told, thought-provoking story.

And when the novel finished, the alert reader will notice that almost a hundred pages of book remain. That’s because the real fun is about to begin. Leave your preconceived notions at the door.

Unfortunately marred by gratuitous profanity. Yeah, I know why authors do it; it’s just not necessary. And distracts, rather than adds, to verisimilitude.

Enjoy.