Book Review: The Ghoul King by Guy Haley (Four Stars)

Book Review: The Ghoul King (Dreaming Cities #2) by Guy Haley

Four Stars

“Don’t do anything foolish.” “I’m afraid I already have.”

Even better than the first of this series, The Emperor’s Railroad, even though this offering also features zombies (and ghouls). Haley is a gifted storyteller. As Quinn leads a band into the heart of a devastated Dreaming City, the reader discovers more about the history, biology, theology, and dynamics of life in this post-apocalyptic world.

“Once you take death out of the equation, there isn’t much to be frightened of.”

The too-good-to-be-true quasi-hero Quinn returns, but his female opposite number is a richer, more complicated character. Other characters add depth. The plot is linear and the action almost non-stop. I gave back the star I subtracted for zombies in the first book … because.

“All the evil I have seen in my life has been perpetrated by those acting in God’s name, not by God.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Ghoul King by Guy Haley (Four Stars)

  1. Not a zombie fan, haven’t read much about ghouls. Good cover but I’m not drawn to this book. If there’s not good character devel. I don’t stay interested. Thanks for the review.

    • Pretty much my feelings. This book rises above those unfortunate sops to what passes for science fiction (or, should I say “urban fantasy”) these days. A credible post-apocalyptic world. Heroic, but interesting people. More this book than the first of the series.

Comments are closed.