Book Review: Up and Coming: Stores by the 2016 Campbell-Eligible Authors, S. L. Huang, editor (Zero Stars)

Book Review: Up and Coming: Stores by the 2016 Campbell-Eligible Authors, S. L. Huang, editor

No Stars

Dryness, death, despair, dystopia, defeat, ‘droids, despair.

I soldiered through over half of this dog’s breakfast of short stories, hoping it would get better. It got worse. These folks may be eligible for recognition, but most don’t deserve it. They don’t deserve to be published. (My apologies to those whose surnames fall in the latter part of the alphabet; I gave up.) I can’t believe there was any selection process involved. This is not a scatter gun collection; it’s a hand grenade.

There are a few noteworthy exceptions, like Curtis C. Chen, but most of these a mediocre, nihilistic, apocalyptic, woe-is-me tales. Too many in too close proximity.

Don’t Waste Your Time

