Digging Out from Jonas

24snowOut early Sunday to snap pictures of our snow-covered houses. Hard to tell due to the blowing, but we got at least a foot of accumulation. (Glen Allen reported 14.0” and Ashland 15.8”.) Of course, it settled overnight. The Richmond and both DC airports reopened to a trickle of flights. The 11.4 recorded by the NWS for Richmond was its eleventh greatest snowfall. (RIC is east of downtown and often reports milder, warmer weather.)

digging3We don’t plan going out today. Maybe not tomorrow. Let the plows work in peace. The pack varied from four inches deep to over a foot. Fair layer of slush under it.

Treva and Eric did all the serious digging. I documented their efforts. 😉

One thought on “Digging Out from Jonas

  1. In places 11″ seemed about right. But on front porch, deck and walkway the drifts were close to 3′. I found the couple next door shoveling my porch and sidewalk to my car. Only one car has gone by, no plows that I’ve seen. People skiing by. I imagine Monument Ave. has been plowed. Busy doing book tasks, with no excuses not to get the writing done.
    Happy snow day. Lenore

Comments are closed.