Movie Review: Star Wars: The Force Awakens (no spoilers) Five Stars

Movie Review: Star Wars: The Force Awakens directed, co-produced and co-written by J. J. Abrams

Five Stars out of Five

Oh, yeah! Despite the hype (maybe because of the hype) this movie still might have been a turkey. It’s not. It is an enjoyable, self-contained adventure with plenty of hooks backward and forward.

Good story. Good character development. Good misdirection and foreshadowing. Large scale and intimate. Hope and fear. Tragedy and triumph. Epic.

I have seen every Star Wars movie during the week it was first released. Yes, I saw Episode IV, as they now call it, in 1977. The Force Awakens ranks with the best of the first six episodes.

Quibbles. I saw the normal format movie in a normal theater. Many camera pans dissolved into blurs. This picture cries for 48 frames per second. The sound track was too loud.

I’ll revise this in a couple of weeks to tell you how I really feel, but any meaningful discussion will involve spoilers.

For now: go, see it.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Star Wars: The Force Awakens (no spoilers) Five Stars

  1. Well, now I’m unsure what to do. Another blogger I read frequently (BookWraiths) gave this movie a mostly dismal and disappointed review. Based on his comments, I was going to skip it. Perhaps I’ll venture out next week and see it during the evening (like a Monday or Tuesday evening). I’m also loathe to visit my favorite local theater because it was bought by AMC last month and I dislike the AMC franchise. *grumbling to myself in a corner*

    • Yes, I believe it’s worth watching on it’s own merits.
      Is it great literature? No. I know where to find great literature. This is pop corn for the brain.
      But … it’s much more. There is a subplot which will resonant with every parent, which pulls no punches.

  2. Pingback: Movie Re-review: The Force Awakens, Star Wars, Episode VII Four Stars | As a Matter of Fancy

Comments are closed.