Andrea’s Axiom Analyzed

During my thirty plus years of military service I noticed that no matter what the job was– and no matter who estimated what it required–they always underestimated how long it would take, how much it would cost, how many people or tools would be required, etc.

Therefore, I developed a scientific rule-of-thumb to better gauge what a given task would demand. “Double the Estimate.” I generally apply it to the most critical factor, usually cost. (This was especially true of projects involving higher headquarters’ or presidential mandates, but also to contractor pledges of performance.)

Humbly, I called it Andrea’s Axiom. I’ve been using it for more than thirty years, and it still applies. If anything, it’s optimistic.

Yesterday afternoon, we spent several hours doing a thirty-minute job: replacing the gate latch on the wooden backyard fence.

Obviously, Andrea’s Axiom failed to forecast my effort. It was a first time effort and old hardware was involved, so I should have doubled the doubling. I’ll call that Andrea’s Adjustment for Amateurism.

Perhaps I should double the double twice—one for amateurism and one for old hardware. For a change I had the correct tools and parts, though I had to make numerous trips back into the garage to find them. Or maybe treat the additive factors as exponents.

There you are: a handy means of determining what a task will really cost you. The more critical the task, the greater the likelihood multiple doublings will ensue.

You’re welcome.

3 thoughts on “Andrea’s Axiom Analyzed

  1. Especially with icky jobs like hinges on gates, I’ve found a solution: “Call the guy.” Guys do the heavy yard work and change light bulbs in high places and build more book shelves. There, done. Maybe they double, triple their time and cost. Still, I’m happy.

  2. Funny, I suggested that exact solution yesterday. My bride of almost forty-four years pointed out that I’m the Guy. 😉

Comments are closed.