Reading in 2014

For the few of you who care, I read 180 new titles in 2014. That number includes a few short stories but not books I quit or books that I read multiple times (of which there were several).

I posted reviews of most on Goodreads.com, and of notable books here. I don’t post books that I quit after a few pages, but do review books that I invest fifty or a hundred pages in before abandoning. Those reviews are only on Goodreads.com.

Saw twice as many movies in December (two) than I normally see in six months. Don’t watch TV either. That’s how I can read so much. Or maybe it’s vice versa: reading crowds out TV and movies.

Most of my reading is on a B&N Nook, though I recently bought a used iPad and will read on it, if I can figure out how to get back into the fool thing. I also read a significant number of paper books. Just saw a report that reading physical books is better for you. (Some one has too much time or research grant dollars on their hands.)

If reading preserves our cognitive skills, I’m about pickled.

3 thoughts on “Reading in 2014

  1. Well, about researchers having too much money or time on their hands, concerning this topic I respectfully disagree. How devices affect young brains is important information. The world needs clear thinkers with good attention spans, more than ever. If we don’t do the research we won’t know the effects, good and not-so-good. The American Academy of Pediatrics thinks small children should have only one hour a day of “screen time” – TV, computer, Kindle, whatever. I know of some kids who had TV’s in their room since birth, and cell phones at 8. They’re older now and never read, unless forced.

  2. You’re absolutely correct, except you missed my point. We do know the effects; they’re almost all bad. All the studies in the world don’t get those TVs and computers out of the children’s bedrooms.

    I cringe every time I hear a school tout having computers and “keyboarding” for ever younger students. No! They need to learn to read, and add and subtract, and learn to think. A few children exposed to all that become good readers and thinkers, but most become sponges indiscriminately absorbing all the junk … and not knowing the difference.

  3. BTW, Best Buy’s Geek Squad got me past my mess and back into my iPad. Now I have to think of a new excuse.

    The presence of intelligent human beings I can talk to is why I still patronize brick-and-mortar stores. I try to steer my business to knowledge locals, rather than national chains, but as the Geek Squad example shows big isn’t necessarily bad.

    Being there IS important.

Comments are closed.