Inadvertent Algorithmic Cruelty

By now you’ve probably heard of, if not read, Eric Meyer’s blog Inadvertent Algorithmic Cruelty. He says it better than I could.

It does raise the issue of letting our lives be so controlled by automatic programs.

While I’m not joining Stephen Hawking in warning that artificial intelligence threatens mankind, he too has a good point.

Or the word completers resident in so many social media software.

We have met the enemy, and they are, if not us, at least our creation.

2 thoughts on “Inadvertent Algorithmic Cruelty

  1. Yes, I saw a post and discussion on a woman’s page. She lost a child in 2014 and found one of the “it’s been a great year” thingies. I had one which I deleted. I’ve had a good year but that’s not the point, of course.

    (Even the grammar was wrong. “It has been a great year.”)

  2. Me, too. At the time I didn’t consider how it might hurt some people. In fact, I suspect it bothered more people than it pleased, and the vast majority thought nothing of it.

    Can’t “it’s” stand for “it has” too?

Comments are closed.