Running the Government Gauntlet

“An appeal board of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office has canceled the trademark registrations of the Washington Redskins on the grounds that the team’s controversial name is disparaging to Native Americans,” reported the Wall Street Journal. Since when does the Patent Office enforce manners?

Do you realize how many potentially offensive (to someone) and politically incorrect trademarks there are? (Swedes may object to Vikings; short citizens might find Giants offensive, Confederacy-related mascots could offend Blacks; horse lovers may find equine trademarks (Broncos and Chargers) offensive. Why do glorify pirates?)

Who decides? Someone in Hollywood or New York City? Was there a poll? A vote? As an citizen whose ancestry includes Native Americans, I could be among the offended, but no one asked me. Was this decision made by some white lawyer inside the Beltway?

Who gave the Patent Office the power to arbitrate? Is there a due process for rescinding a long-standing patent or trademark? Is the harm to the holder of the trademark or patent considered? (Of course not, we’re going for ideological purity.)

Why are we stand for this stupidity?

2 thoughts on “Running the Government Gauntlet

  1. I think native Americans have been pushing for this. I guess they used the patent office because it was the most likely path to get what they want. I haven’t seen the data on how many native Americans want this, and how many don’t care. The original patent holder is surely long dead.

    When I think about it, I’m not sure why I responded. I don’t really have an opinion either way on the matter. Ha.

    Peoples’ beliefs seem to separate us more than they unite us. That I do have an opinion about. It makes me sad.

    • Some Have. I remember our local tribes have specifically said the “Redskin” name does not bother them.

      I don’t care much one way or the other on this specific issue; I’m concerned what it means for government by bureaucracy.

Comments are closed.